How to delete or hide YouTube channel?

There are two options, either to hide or delete your YouTube channel.

How to delete a YouTube channel?

  1. Go to studio.youtube.com and click on Settings on the left menu.

Youtube settings

2. Then go to Channel -> Advanced Settings -> Delete or hide channel.

How to delete YouTube channel

3. A new window will open and you will be redirected to myaccount.google.com. From there you will see an option either to hide or delete YouTube channel.

4. Select either HIDE MY CHANNEL to hide your channel

Hide YouTube channel

or DELETE MY CONTENT to permanently delete your YouTube channel.

how to permanently delete youtube channel

If you hide your YouTube channel:

This will make your YouTube content and activity private.

  • Channel name
  • Public videos
  • Public playlists
  • Likes
  • Your subscriptions to other channels
  • Subscribers to your channel

  • Your comments made on YouTube videos
  • Your replies on YouTube comments.

If you permanently remove your YouTube channel:

This will permanently delete the YouTube data associated with your channel.

  • Your videos
  • Playlists
  • Your subscriptions to other channels
  • Subscribers to your channel
  • Comments that you made on YouTube
  • Your replies and thumbs-up on comments
  • Your messages
  • Your search and watch history

 

How to re-enable your YouTube channel or unhide content?

In case you hidden your channel and now want to restore it, follow these steps.

1. Sign in to your YouTube.

2. Go to create a channel page and fill out the form. This will re-enable your YouTube channel.

Important: in the form, don’t click “To use a business or other name, click here.” This will create a new channel instead of restoring your hidden channel.

3. You will have an option to make your videos and playlists viewable from YouTube Studio.

 

To sum it up

Be really careful if you want to completely delete your YouTube channel. This is non restorable. Of course, you can always reach out to YouTube support, not sure they will be able to help.

So, in case you just want to take a YouTube pause – consider hiding YouTube channel.